Butlerian jihad CoverI have come to hate this time of year (as far as next years reading selections are concerned).

In the past couple of years, it seems, whenever I set a goal, I’m assuredly going to fail at reaching those goals. And yet, if I don’t at least try to obtain these goals, I’m just assuredly going to fail as I always have lingering in the back of my mind the things I want to accomplish – book I want to read, how much and how often I plan to write, etc.

And so, here I go, once again.

For the past several years I have made it a point to read Dune. This, year, if I get to it, great, if not, so be it. I do, however, plan on reading the first three books in the prequals Legends of Dune trilogy, namely The Butlerian JihadThe Machine Crusade, and The Battle of Corrin. I read the first chapter of House Atreides a few nights ago and immediately got the feeling that this is a series I could easily get sucked into.

The_Sword_of_shannaraAnother trilogy I have been looking forward to reading is The Sword of Shannara trilogy: The Sword of ShannaraThe Elfstones of Shannara, and The Wishsong of Shannara. This is another book that I started reading – even though I was reading something else at the time – and got the sense that these are a sequence of books that I could really get to enjoy. What really grabbed me when I started reading The Sword of Shannara is the rich history that the story dives into right off the bat. I love stories like that!

Next, The Man in the High Castle by Phillip K. Dick. One thing that I love more than science fiction is history – real history – so reading a book that combines the two must be the best of both worlds, right? I don’t know, but this is another book that has been on my list for a while, and this year I plan on following through.

the_man_in_the_high_castleFor now I am going to leave things right there, because I know that there will be other books that I will put onto this list. Namely, I know I want to add some no-fiction (history) books, but I’m not sure which ones yet. Recently, I have purchased some books on Rome and the army and Legions of Rome. Additionally, I am a true crime nut, so I will probably add some true crime titles, although I’m not sure which ones yet. And finally, there will always be the titles that I come across that I simply have to read right now and will most likely drop everything to do so.

On top of my reading goals, I hope to make a goal of writing at least four times a week, and making a concerted effort to at least write a book, of book length, with a coherent theme and plot. To me this means that, when complete, my book would be at least 50,000 words long (roughly 175 pages), and I would like to do this over a 60 day period. Doing the math, that’s roughly 834 words per day. I would then like to spend the remainder of the year editing, re-working, and re-writing.

So that’s it. As added incentive, I plan on printing out this blog post and carrying it around with me in my wallet as a constant reminder of what I have (and have not) accomplished. We’ll see how well I did at accomplishing my goals around this time next year.