cemterydanceEver read one of those books that when you pick it up and turn it over in your hands and read the back cover or flip through the pages to see how long it is, you think this might take me a while to read and then you start and you can’t put it down?

Relic by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child was one of those books, for me. I read that book back in High School – thirteen years ago, WoW – and three days later I turned the last page – page 460-something – and remember thinking that Relic is one of the best books that I have ever read. There have been many books read since then, but it’s still on my top five list of the best.

So when I picked up Cemetary Dance, by the same authors, you could say that expectations were high for a great read – and I wasn’t let down. Not as great as Relic, but Cemetary Dance had all the things a great work of fiction needs – interesting characters, good story line and plot, and, the most covetted of all, the ending twist.

Of course I am not going to tell you the twist in the ending, or how it ended for that matter – you need to go out and read it for yourself – but the basic gist of Cemetery Dance surrounds a man who is murdered in his apartment by a man that lives in the same building and who is cocky enough to pull of the murder off in full view of his neighbors. When the police, a man by the name of Vincent D’Agosta and Special Agent Pendergast, investigate, they are shocked to discover that the man several eye witnesses identified as the murderer was found dead, floating face down in the Hudson, two weeks before. To make the first hundred pages even more juicy, when his grave is exhumed, the police find absolutely nothing.

Rating (Out of 5):

planetplanetplanetplanet

