different_seasonsIt isn’t very often that I watch a movie before I read the book, but with The Shawshank Redemption or, as the story is entitled in Stephen King’s book Different Seasons: Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption, that is exactly what happened. I first saw the movie many, many years ago, soon after it was released in the theaters, before I read the book this past week. Since I saw the movie that first time and since I enjoyed it so much, I have watched the movie again, and again, and again, totaling well over a dozen viewings, I would imagine. So you can imagine what high expectation I held for the book when I read it for the first time.

But the truth is is that the book and the movie were very close, sure, there were a few scene’s added here and there to make the story movie theater length, but for the most part the plot was exactly the same as in the book. This is shocking. Hollywood has the opinion – a wrong opinion – that any book that they decide to make into a movie is simply a blueprint, a rough outline, of a movie that still requires writing, and tinkering, and in general a screwing up of the major plot points to make the story better, or the creature more frightening, or the chase scene longer, or the explosions more. . . explosiony.

Sometimes this works and the movie actually comes out better, but rally. All I can say is that in the case of The Shawshank Redemption is was a wise thing that the story was kept whole, because, truth be told, it didn’t need any revision or re-writes, it is perfect the way it is.

Rating (Out of 5):

planetplanetplanetplanet-half

