On October 27, 2009, Tor will release the first of three books that will conclude The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. Robert Jordan passed away on September 16, 2007 leaving his The Wheel of Time series incomplete. Four months after his death, Brandon Sanderson was chosen to finish the series, working around a prologue and ending that Jordan had completed at the time of his death. It was later decided that the concluding work, now estimated at around 700,000 words, would be broken into three separate works: The Gathering Storm, Towers of Midnight, and The Memory of Light.