v-abcI usually don’t do this – comment on shows that I happen to have watched on T.V. But last night – by chance – I caught the pilot episode of the new V series on ABC. The reason I felt compelled to write about it is because I remember the old V from the 1980’s, and while it might not have been at the top of peoples all time greatest list for science fiction movies in the 80’s, it was at the top of mine. Currently, I am in the middle of watching the series, which I have never seen, but I have seen the mini-series several times, and for me, it is on my list of what was good in the 80’s, when it comes to science fiction.

I am not going to sit here and harp on the new show, because, even though I wasn’t totally impressed, they have only shown one show. My issue is that there seems to be nothing original coming out of Hollywood or on T.V. any longer. The last all orginal show that I have known of that has come out in recent memory is The Big Bang Theory. In the past year alone we have seen a re-make and/or additions of G.I. Joe, Terminator, Transformers, Shrek, Tron2 (next year baby), and now V, just to mention a few. There is even talk of re-making Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid with Tom Cruise and John Travolta.

What ever happened to the all original idea or even new spins of old themes, like with Independence Day? The fact that V is being re-done and seems to be done in the same vain as Lost, not to mention Flashforward, it seems to me that Hollywood may have ran out of ideas. Throw into the mix all the reality shows and it just goes to show that Hollywood is buying time. For what, you ask? I don’t know, possible they are buying time in hopes that their writers block will pass, and hopefully it does and soon, because T.V. is becoming a dismal place.

