Roger Ebert says not to idealize him as a fallen celebrity, but the tidbits of information I read in this article gave me a whole new level of respect for the man. Per his request I do not view him as a fallen celebrity, but his view on life should idealized because there simply would be less of a lot of bad things in this world if every thought and felt the way he does.

Here are some quotes that struck me the hardest:

“. . . words are the single most valuable thing in the world.”

When I am writing my problems become invisible and I am the same person I always was. All is well. I am as I should be.”

I believe that if, at the end of it all, according to our abilities, we have done something to make others a little happier, and something to make ourselves a little happier, that is about the best we can do. To make others less happy is a crime. To make ourselves unhappy is where all crime starts. We must try to contribute joy to the world. That is true no matter what our problems, our health, our circumstances. We must try. I didn’t always know this, and am happy I lived long enough to find it out.”

