Not to get political on a blog that is supposed to be about Science Fiction, but is with great regret that I have to post this story: Peter Watts, science fiction writer from Canada who was arrested while in a border crossing incident back in December, has been convicted of assault and could face up to two years in prison. Story here. I hate to take sides because I wasn’t there, but whenever there are two wildly different stories to an incident involving two people – one who is in a position of authority, yet still accountable for their actions and who carries a gun, and the other a simple writer; it doesn’t take a rocket scientists to figure out who is telling the truth. I will be the first to admit that I don’t trust any authority figure and feel very threatened in the presence of a police officer, but still I’m not going to ‘choke’ somebody knowing full-well that when it comes down to my word against theirs, mine will most likely be the one ignored and off to jail I would go. Hopefully justice prevails here, not to mention truth, but it looks like that might not be the case.

