Yesterday was a good day. I sat down, folded back the wrinkly pages of my Steno notebook, past all the failed writing attempts that had come before, and I began to write. I don’t remember thinking to myself this is it, this time when I write it will be rich and full of detail. But it was.

It was only five pages, but those pages seemed to pour from the tip of my pen effortlessly and built a rather firm foundation to build on. The best part: I could feel that there was more to come, that the next time I sat down, the ideas, the writing, the characters would all write themselves, all I had to do was bring the pen and paper.

A small milestone, I know, but for a writer who has been battling writers block for the better part of five months, all the while trying to play the game that is life, this for me was huge.

So I sat down to finish Stephen King‘s ‘Salems Lot, I asked myself, how does he do it? I mean, all the action took place in the last fifty pages or so, all the rest was just character development and story development. But I never once thought oh God, how much more of this, get on with it already! Even though there was close to four hundred pages of how this small Maine town fights the good fight against Vampires that try and overtake them, and damn near do, I never stopped turning pages.

I guess it is a secret that only Stephen King can answer. However he does it, he does it effortlessly, it would seem, and like a pro.

The book starts out with a writer who moves back to the small Maine town after many years away. His plan is to write his next book, and he wants to do it while living and sleeping in the house on  the hill – The Marsten House. For Ben Mears, this house is more then a house, it is haunted and he knows it. He seen the ghost that haunts it’s halls.

To his surprise he finds that the house has been recently bought after sitting many years vacant. The man who bought it is one half of a business owner team who plans to open up a small furniture shop in town. His name is Kurt Barlow. and yet nobody has ever seen this man. They have met his assistant, a Mr. Straker, but never Barlow himself.

While in town, Ben falls in love, but he does so just before life in ‘Salems Lot starts to deteriate. Children go missing, the people of the town start going mad, the dead start rising from the grave. . .

Although we learn later that it is not the dead rising from the grave, but rather the undead.

Soon it will be up to Ben Mears and a handful of others to stop the head vampire, whom we come to learn is Barlow, from taking over the town and enslaving its residents.

Rating (out of 5):

