So I broke down and went to watch a movie in the movie theater, something I don’t normally do. Call me cheap, but spending $10 to see a movie seems excessive, and while waiting for the movie to come out on DVD usually costs about the same if not a little more, I get bonus features and extended version which are more worthwhile to me.

Anyway, I went to see Inception because not only was it one of the few science fiction movies coming out this summer, it also looked good…but after watching the movie I feel that there were some flaws in the plot that kind of ruined it for me.

First, the whole back story about his wife not being able to distinguish between the real world and a dream. Isn’t that what the ‘idol’ was for, for them to be able to tell the difference? If this was the case, her inability to tell she was in fact not dreaming should have been taken care of.

Second, when one of the team members is shot while in this dream state, the rest of the group is left with a dilemma: what to do? Normally, when you are killed in this dream state you simply wake up, but because of the unique drug that is being used for this particular operation, being killed now mean falling into a no-man’s world of perpetual dreaming that takes nothing short of a miracle to come out of. However, as we are told, once this particular job is done, all the members of this memory-stealing team have to do in order to get back to the reality is to mimic the state of falling or tipping over. So why when this team member is shot and on the brink of death doesn’t the rest of the team just take advantage of this loophole?

I know the points that were brought up only were in place to further the story, but these are, in my opinion, pretty big discrepencies or loose ends that should have been tied up to make the story more believable. I am not saying I didn’t like the movie, because there was a lot going on and a lot to wrap your head around and I will need at least one more viewing in order to come to any conclusions, I’m just saying that these were my first impression regarding the science fiction blockbuster of the summer.

