When Stargate Universe premiered I didn’t watch much of it. I caught the first three episodes and then kinda lost track. The truth is that I am a huge – HUGE! Stargate fan. I’ve been a fan since the original movie and watched the first episode of SG-1 when the show started on Showtime. I even have all ten seasons of Stargate SG-1 on DVD. Needless to say, I take my Stargate seriously. But then Stargate Atlantis came out and despite all the hype, I found the story lines, well, ridiculous and in short, I never got hooked and never looked back.

So when Stargate Universe came around, I just didn’t give it much of a chance. It seems like in todays day-and-age when somebody tries to jump-start a franchise they over reach on story and especially graphics, and the whole thing, in the end, just becomes dumb. Take Batman, for example. The first Batman with Michael Keaton was awesome, and the second wasn’t bad, then the characters become unbelievable. Maybe it was because they dressed so flamboyantly; and maybe even because everything was too colorful while at the same time being dark, but by the time Batman Forever and Batman and Robin came around, the movies had lost something and that something was the following of any serous fan-base.

For me, Stargate had suffered the same fate with Atlantis.

Long story-short, I started dating a girl who loves Stargate the movies, SG-1, and Universe. And I didn’t have the heart to tell her that I really wasn’t a Stargate Universe fan. I mean, come on, how often do you meet a girl that is going to school to be an engineer, talks at length about Quantum Physics, AND loves Science Fiction? Trust me folks, there are very few, so I went along with her Stargate Universe obsession.

And when she suggested that we watch the first season of Stargate Universe from beginning to end, my head hurt a little, but I went along with it.

Longer storyt-short, I now realize what I have been missing. The character development is top-notch, there is none stop drama, the stories are well written, and the thing that I like the most about the show: not everything is pristine. In real life there is garbage in the streets, as well as dents and rust. Put all these elements together, and you have a show that is believable – still not always all believable, but still, they’re doing a pretty good job.

And now I can’t wait for the second season to start next weeks

