Originally Posted December 09, 2009: For no good reason I watched Star Trek again over the weekend. Still liked it, I will probably watch it again if and when a follow-up happens. On that note, a quick search on Wikipedia states that all major cast members have signed on for a sequel and the movie is scheduled for release into theaters in June 2012. And although no details about script details are currently available J.J. Abrams is apparently open to the idea of resurrecting former villains, such as Khan, for the sequel (look for ‘Sequel’ towards the bottom of the page).

The year that Independence Day was released, the bar was forever set high for movies, and science fiction movies in particular. From that point on science fiction movies not only had to consist of a good plot, memorable characters, and a story line that proceeded at just the right pace, they also had to have mind blowing special effects. Since that day not many movies of the genre have succeeded at meeting all four criteria. Take this grim reality along with the fact that not many – OK, none – movies have been released in the past few years from Hollywood that have been worth a damn, you can imagine how surprised I was when I sat down to watch the new Star Trek for the first time.

If you want the one line review, here it is – awesome! Not only did the movie have a plot that was well thought out, the characters and their history was equally fleshed out. Throw in a classic combination of graphics and action, you have the makings for a great movie. Now I go into to much depth because I don’t want to spoil anything out there for those of you who have not had a chance to sit down and watch it, but just let me say this: it won’t be a waist of time.

The only thing that struck me as surprising was the fact that Spock and Uhura had a thing? But hey, what can I say, space is a dark and lonely place.

My only regret is that I don’t have a larger screen T.V. with an adequate speaker system to truly experience what the movie had to offer, but when I do you can bet this will be one of the first movies I’ll watch.

Rating (Out of 5):

