Just an FYI, The Postman is still a great movie and as such deserves to be watched again and again, a ritual I partook in last night as I watched The Postman for the second time in about six months. I could re-iterate how much I love this movie but I’ll leave it up to you to read what has already been written.

Original

God, I promised myself I wouldn’t go off on any more rants about how Hollywood has lost its way, and I will restrain myself here, instead I will try to focus on what good movies Hollywood has offered in the past.

Despite its less than flattering ratings and cruel reception it received by movie-goers and critics alike, The Postman is a gem among the rock garden of movies that Hollywood has put out since my impressionable High School years. Want good acting? Want a great story? Want action? Want adventure? Want a message of hope and courage? Then watch The Postman.

Everybody has their lists of great movies – a top ten, if you will – and while I would be hard pressed to list my top ten or favorite science fiction or fantasy movies, I do know that The Postman would be on it. Yes, I have read the book and loved it, and sure I am biased because of that, but very rarely in the history of fiction and live action movies, has a single piece of art translated to both medias so well.

I am not going to give you a synapse here of The Postman, instead I offer a challenge: go out and watch the movie for yourself and tell me I am wrong; tell me it is not one of the best movies Hollywood has put forth in recent memory; tell me the critics were right to slam The Postman. My guess if that you can’t, because not only is The Postman inspiring, it is a movie beautifully put together and filmed, a true Hollywood gem that ranks right up there with Gone with the wind or The Wizard of Oz.

Rating (out of 5):

