Lately I have been going on a true crime binge. For me, this really isn’t that unusual. Previous binges and hankerings for new discoveries within the science fiction genre have led to such treasures as the works of Jack Vance and Vernor Vinge, and growing interest in the sub-genre of military science fiction led to me reading John Scalazi’s Old Man’s War Trilogy back-to-back-to-back, something I haven’t done since high school.

Which brings me to Hello Charlie, a book that I just happened to discover one day while cruising the internet. The book tells the story of a bizarre exchange of letters between a convicted killer and a retired homicide detective. During this exchange, the convict hints that there might be more to his criminal history and past that could be discovered if only the detectives would dig a little deeper.

