Later this week I will be taking a trip. I wish I could say it is a fun trip, although I’m not say that it won’t be. No, rather this is a trip to go visit my girlfriends mother in Seattle, whom I have never met before. Needless to say, I don’t know what to expect other than to expect the worst and hope for the best. What this also means is waiting in the airport; waiting for shuttles to show up and drop us off at the rental car place, not to mention waiting for fairies to take across the bay. In short, this means that there is going to be lots and lots of waiting, thus I must remember to bring a book…or two, or three.

For this trip I had to choose carefully. I am about to finish Into the Looking Glass by John Ringo, but am not entirely sure I want to jump right into the next installment of the series. Besides, I need to pack economically and being that the next is a hardcover, I’m thinking it will have to wait until I get back.

So, for this trip I have decided to bring two books that I think will be easy reads, not to mention light to carry.

The first is Stepsons of Terra by Robert Silverberg. Stepsons of Terra is a story about a colony that long ago colonized a planet far away from Earth, and now they have returned. Only, the Earth that they thought they were returning to doesn’t exist. The people of this far-future Earth are simple pleasure seekers and care nothing about what else is going on beyond its borders, not even if it threatens their way of life.

Next is Star Wars: Tales from the New Republic. Amongst the several short stories contained within this collection are several by Timothy Zahn and Michael A. Stackpole, two authors that have contributed tons to the Star Wars universe.

Hopefully this little vacation will be as relaxing as I hope and maybe I’ll be able to get some reading done.

