The plot is simple: A rogue physicists tampering in his lab at Central Florida University inadvertently opens a doorway to another world. The energy released in this event turns half of Florida into a deep crater. After the dust settles, however, creatures of a particularly dangerous nature start pouring out of this “gate”, destroying anything in the path and spreading a deadly fungus that alters local biology and turns into incubators to bread more monsters.

Not understanding what has happened the powers that be grab the first physicists that they can get their hands on to find out what is happening. Searching for the simplest terms her can, the physicists, Dr. Weaver, explains that an experiment involving Higgs Boson’s, a subatomic particle that can create or destroy its own universe, has been unleashed upon the world, opening at least one gate to another dimension and possible others.

Soon, other aliens start showing up that at first appear to be friendly. The alien race that we learn are called the Mree are anything but, however. They may appear to be nothing more than talking cats, but they are in bed with the violent, insect-like alien race now known as the T!Ch!R!. Soon the Mree are discovered for what they truly are and instead of one alien race that humanity is fighting for its survival against, there are now two.

Humanity catches a break, however, when they come in contact with a third alien race that call themselves the Adar. The Adar, having done battle with the T!Ch!R!, whom they call the Dreen, agree to help Weaver when he explains to them that the Adar are next unless the can be stopped on their ruthless fight to capture every world in the known universe.

But there is a catch. The Adar will share a weapon of immense power with Weaver as long as he understands that this weapon not only has a short fuse, but also that when detonated the destructive power will be so great that it could tear whichever world it happens to be on at that time in two.

Realizing the risks Weaver takes the weapon that he hopes will not only defeat the Dreen but also close all the gates leading from their world to ours.

This was the first John Ringo book that I had ever read. I say this only because on the anticipation and excitement I felt when I started reading, especially after all the good things that I had heard about some of his other works. However, now that I have one of his book behind me, I must say that I was less than impressed. John Ringo‘s writing styles shows that he is clearly capable of writing a good story and fitting all the pieces together to have a story that is not only entertaining but exciting. My problem with Into the looking glass was with the characters. They were all one-dimensional, and because they were it was often hard to tell who was speaking. Was it the gun-ho physicist speaking (which I find it hard to believe that any physicists would as gun-ho as Weaver), or was it the gun-ho SEAL talking. Or maybe it was another gun-ho characters as there were many.

I’m not going to say I liked or dis-liked the story, but for me, the fact that the characters where so one-dimensional and melded into one another I cannot say with certainty that I am or am not a John Ringo fan. I just have to wait until I read the next book in the story to make a decisions.

Rating (out of 5):

