In literature there are many classics that have either been expanded upon, or should. The same goes for movies, but with the ever-growing behavior of Hollywood to re-make, re-load, and re-do the classics, one has to be weary, especially when not all said re-do’s are, well, rewarding.

I bring this up because when I heard that a prequel to Planet of the Apes was in the works, I rolled my eyes and reminisced on the good old days when an original thought was worth it’s weight in gold in Hollywood. Then came the commercials for Rise of the Planet of the Apes, and again I rolled my eyes saying to myself that it’s worse than I thought.

But I just might have to eat my words on this one.

Every indication is, so far, that the movie isn’t half bad, good in fact, and maybe even better than that.

In any event I plan to venture out and go see for myself on Monday and then I’ll know if the rumors are true.  But I’m not holding my breath, for as much as Hollywood has come to not understand creativity and genius in cinema, I can say that movie critics understand even less.

Further Reading

