I love military science fiction, which is funny because I have an absolute loathing for guns. Maybe it’s because of the fact that conflict and fighting are an everyday part of life and the world, but when I just happened to walk into a local book store and came across The Cobra Trilogy by Timothy Zahn, I knew I had to have it. Somewhere, I picked up one of these books a long time ago, but it wasn’t the first in the series, and no matter how hard I tried, I failed to find the first book in any used bookstore or online, at least for a reasonable price.

The story, from what I understand from reading the description on the back, centers around a man and how he came to join an elite military force known as the Cobras. This is not done on a whim, however. All of humanity is in danger of being wiped out, one colony at a time. Like most soldiers, this character decides to join not only to save his own home planet, but to take back and save the one that have been lost, as well as, to make sure that those that have died, did not die in vane, for nothing.

