I must admit, I have been out of the loop the last week. Travelling through the cornfields of Nebraska, South Dakota and Minnesota have a tendency to make everyday things that you take for granted, like connecting to the internet, difficult. That being said, I was truly shocked when I got into the swing of things this morning only to discover that last week Harry Harrison passed away. For those of you who don’t know who Harry Harrison is, you have truly missed out on one of the greatest science fiction minds to every grace the genre. Make Room, Make Room was not only a statement on overpopulation, but was also a hit movie starring Charlton Heston and renamed Soylent Green. One of the highlights of my days in High School were sitting down during my off period, or ditching class all together, to find some place quite to read Harrison‘s famous Eden trilogy.

Harry Harrison March 12, 1925 – August 15, 2012.

