The_Sword_of_shannaraI’m really not one for New Years Resolutions, but I am for goal, especially when it come to reading and using my brain. And, unfortunately  in the past few years, my reading goals have been falling far short of where I would like them to be, especially last year. This, however, hasn’t deterred me, even though I did, for a brief moment, consider not even making any reading goals, contemplating the idea of simply letting the moment take we where it willed. Then I thought better of it and realized that with so many books in my library it’s hard to keep track of them all, and even harder to come to a consensus of which I want to reach next.

So here it goes, the list, in no particular order.

  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. The movie is obviously coming out this year, and one things I always enjoyed about reading in my younger years was reading the book before the movie came out. This was true with Jurassic ParkEvent HorizonStar Wars: Episode I, etc. Besides, the first installment of The Hunger Games was far better than I thought it would be, so I have noringworld problem continuing on with the trilogy.
  • The Sword of Shannara and The Elfstone of Shannara by Terry Brooks. The truth is that I have owned these books since I was in my teens and have yet to read them. I pick one of both of them up every now and then and just read the back cover, and every time I think to myself: when are you going to finally read these? Well, God willing, hopefully this year.
  • New Spring and The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan. Again, this is a series that I have always wanted to read and while I was feeling ambitious about this years reading I added them to the list. As we all know these books are monstrous in size, so we’ll see.
  • Hereos: The Legend of Huma by  Richard A. Knaak. Again, this is a series that I have had for a long time and never got around to reading. Back in my high school days I did read the Chronicles trilogy and thought highly of them, so I figured it was about time I get back to reading the Drogonlance books that I have had forever.
  • Ringworld, Ringworld Engineers and Ringworld Throne by Larry Niven. Some science fiction is needed to balance everything out, right? The truth is I have alreadythe_legend_of_huma read Ringworld, years ago, but I don’t remember if I read Ringworld Enginneers or not, and I certainly haven’t read Ringworld Throne. So I figured it was best to start from the beginning and re-read the at least the first one again, something I have always wanted to do anyway.
  • Ender’s Game, The Speaker for the Dead, and Xenocide by Orson Scott Card. Again, I read Ender’s Game years ago, but in this case I know for a fact that I stopped right there and never continued on, even though I wanted to. Life just happened, I guess, like it always does. In any event, I plan to start from the beginning and read one right after the other.
  • If I have time, I would like to sneak in a Stephen King book or two. The two that I would like to read the most are The Dark Half and It. Again, these are monstrous books, so we’ll see how much time I have, if any, to read them.
