to_marry_medusaBeyond wedding planning which has taken up more time than I care to think about in the past year (especially the last two months), I have been able to sneak in some reading – but not much – and yet I have remained diligent in checking the kindle daily deals on Amazon, and as of the middle part of the summer, they have some great titles. I have also added some titles to my Kindle library that were not on sale, but great titles none the less.

The first notable addition is To Marry Medusa by Theodore Sturgeon. From the first time I read the description on Amazon I knew I was hooked – “First, Dan eats the spore, then, the spore eats Dan.”  I knew that this book was worth purchasing, and at a $1.99 you can’t go wrong.

icehengeNext is Icehenge by Kin Stanley Robinson. This book I had as a paperback edition but I was delighted to find it as a Kindle. The book surrounds the discovery of a Stonehenge-like construction on Pluto…only ten times the size. Yeah, you don’t need much more bait than that to pull me in…

Next I bought an assortment of Star Wars comics and science fiction collections that I hope will do their job in being quick and easy reads, considering my time in the past six months or so has been very limited. I have finished a few of the comics and while they weren’t great, they were horrible either. I have yet to read the science fiction anthologies, but as I have read many such anthologies in the past, I know they can be hit or miss, so I’ll just have to wait and see. Some of the recent titles purchased were Star Wars: Tales Volume 1-4, and The Year’s Best SF 7911.

On top of everything else, I have even managed to read 150 pages of John Scalzi‘s The Human Division.