the_human_divisionSo, like many years in the past few, I fell far short of reaching my reading goal. At list this year I had somewhat of an excuse such as planning my own wedding. And it didn’t help that project after project was piled onto one another at work. But that’s life.

There are, however, some books that I am reading as the year ends that I am hoping I will get mostly finished, if not completely finished, before the year is done. I have been trying lately, and hope to continue into the next year, reading two or three books at a time, but all concerning different subject matters and genres. For example I am currently reading The Human Division by John Scalzi. Scalzi is by far one of my favorite authors to emerge from the world of science fiction in the past few years. Also, in order to try and jump start my writing and creative side, I am reading Outlining Your Novel by K. M. Weiland. And lastly, because I am a history buff I am reading The Plantagenets by Dan Jones.

I find if I read two science fiction book at the same time, or two history book, things can, and often do,the_plantagenets bleed together. At least this way, reading a science fiction/fantasy book; a history book, and a how-to book will keep things at least separated in terms of writing style. And also, I have never been one to pick up a book and read it all the way through before starting the next book. I have always had my fingers in more than one book at any given time.

Hopefully with the end of the year approaching I will have a little down time so I can at least finish one or two of these books before moving onto the next year, but with family and friends in town as well as get-togethers, it remains to be seen how much I will get done. In any event, I hope everybody has a merry Christmas!

