wedges_gambleSince Disney acquired the rights to Star Wars I have been a little concerned about where this could lead with the franchise. This concerned turned into panicked when I learned that Disney was categorizing ALL the previous books in the Star Wars series as Legends – stories having nothing to do with the actual Star Wars Universe. My fear was that this would lead to eventually those books being removed from off of bookshelves completely. This frightened me because if it wasn’t for Timothy Zahn and the Heir to the Empire trilogy, Kevin Anderson‘s Jedi Academy trilogy, along with a few other authors outside the Star Wars universe, my high school years and early college years might have involved a lot more trouble-some behavior if I wasn’t at home reading or discussing the latest in the Star Wars universe with friends. Needless to say, this hasn’t happened. The books are still being sold in book stores and available for purchase on Amazon. Not to mention, the latest Star Wars movie was pretty good, and the next one, Rogue One, looks decent. So, having said that, maybe it’s time I ate my words and expressed my opinion that Disney, thus far, seems to be doing alright by the franchise. Which brings me to the next order of business: what I’m reading now. There is no book out for the new Rogue One movie, but there are a ton of X-Wing books in the Star Wars Legends cannon.  Among those is Wedges Gamble, the second is a series of books centered around the X-Wing pilots in Star Wars. I read the first book many years ago and have been waiting for the perfect opportunity to read the second. And what better time than just before the movie comes out?

